School of Culinary Arts Guide

Becoming a successful chocolatier requires artistry and an eye for design, as well as a strong foundation in the practical skills of the pastry kitchen. In The Art of the Chocolatier, expert pastry chef Ewald Notter shares the wisdom gained from more than 35 years in the pastry kitchen, and combines lessons on artistry and technique into the ultimate guide to chocolate work. The book begins with a basic overview of chocolate, including information on the equipment, ingredients, and basic techniques needed to work with this much-loved ingredient. Part Two covers basic recipes and decorating techniques for small chocolate candies, with information on everything from making ganache and gianduja to decorating molds and creating transfer sheets. In Part Three, Notter teaches all the essential techniques for creating beautiful large-scale chocolate pieces, including making support bases and tubes, working with modeling chocolate, painting, piping, creating chocolate flowers, and more. And the final chapter explains how readers can draw on all the skills learned throughout the book to successfully create award-winning chocolate showpieces. From working with shapes and color to choosing a focus point to developing a sculpture based on a particular theme, Notter provides insights into all the tricks of the trade and expert advice on preparing for competitions. Throughout, techniques are explained with simple, step-by-step instructions and illustrated with clear how-to photos, while stunning beauty shots of chocolate showpieces and candies that are truly works of art provide inspiration. For pastry students, aspiring chocolatiers, and professional pastry chefs looking to improve their skills for restaurant work or competition, The Art of the Chocolatier is a must-have guide from one of the field's most well-known experts.

Baking and Pastry, Third Edition continues its reputation as being a must-have guide for all culinary and baking and pastry students and baking and pastry industry professionals. This new edition improves upon the last with the addition of hundreds of new recipes and photographs, and revised, up-to-date information on creating spectacular pastries, desserts, and breads. New content includes sustainability and seasonality, new trends in plated desserts and wedding and special occasion cakes, and more information on savory and breakfast pastries, volume production, and decor techniques.

The leading guide to the professional kitchen's cold food station, now fully revised and updated Garde Manger: The Art and Craft of the Cold Kitchen has been the market's leading textbook for culinary students and a key reference for professional chefs since its original publication in 1999. This new edition improves on the last with the most up-to-date recipes, plating techniques, and flavor profiles being used in the field today. New information on topics like artisanal cheeses, contemporary styles of pickles and vinegars, and contemporary cooking methods has been added to reflect the most current industry trends. And the fourth edition includes hundreds of all-new photographs by award-winning photographer Ben Fink, as well as approximately 450 recipes, more than 100 of which are all-new to this edition. Knowledge of garde manger is an essential part of every culinary student's training, and many of the world's most celebrated chefs started in garde manger as apprentices or cooks. The art of garde manger includes a broad base of culinary skills, from basic cold food preparations to roasting, poaching, simmering, and sautéing meats, fish, poultry, vegetables, and legumes. This comprehensive guide includes detailed information on cold sauces and soups; salads; sandwiches; cured and smoked foods; sausages; terrines, pâtes, galantines, and roulades; cheese; appetizers and hors d'oeuvre; condiments, crackers, and pickles; and buffet development and presentation.

The ultimate one-stop vegetarian cookbook-from the author of the classic How to Cook Everything Hailed as "a more hip Joy of Cooking" by the Washington Post, Mark Bittman's award-winning bookHow to Cook Everything has become the bible for a new generation of home cooks, and the series has more than 1 million copies in print. Now, withHow to Cook Everything: Vegetarian, Bittman has written the definitive guide to meatless meals-a book that will appeal to everyone who wants to cook simple but delicious meatless dishes, from health-conscious omnivores to passionate vegetarians. How to Cook Everything: Vegetarian includes more than 2,000 recipes and variations-far more than any other vegetarian cookbook. As always, Bittman's recipes are refreshingly straightforward, resolutely unfussy, and unfailingly delicious-producing dishes that home cooks can prepare with ease and serve with confidence. The book covers the whole spectrum of meatless cooking-including salads, soups, eggs and dairy, vegetables and fruit, pasta, grains, legumes, tofu and other meat substitutes, breads, condiments, desserts, and beverages. Special icons identify recipes that can be made in 30 minutes or less and in advance, as well as those that are vegan. Illustrated throughout with handsome line illustrations and brimming with Bittman's lucid, opinionated advice on everything from selecting vegetables to preparing pad Thai, How toCook Everything: Vegetarian truly makes meatless cooking more accessible than ever. Praise for How to Cook Everything Vegetarian "Mark Bittman's category lock on definitive, massive food tomes continues with this well-thought-out ode to the garden and beyond. Combining deep research, tasty information, and delicious easy-to-cook recipes is Mark's forte and everything I want to cook is in here, from chickpea fries to cheese soufflés." --Mario Batali, chef, author, and entrepreneur "How do you make an avid meat eater (like me) fall in love with vegetarian cooking? Make Mark Bittman'sHow to Cook Everything Vegetarian part of your culinary library." --Bobby Flay, chef/owner of Mesa Grill and Bar Americain and author of theMesa Grill Cookbook "Recipes that taste this good aren't supposed to be so healthy. Mark Bittman makes being a vegetarian fun." --Dr. Mehmet Oz, Professor of Surgery, New York-Presbyterian/Columbia Medical Center and coauthor ofYou: The Owner's Manual

A complete guide to volume cooking for restaurants, caterers, hotels, and other large foodservice operations Modern Batch Cookery offers up-to-date information with a focus on healthy cooking, nutrition, and smart menu planning. Preparing healthy, high-quality food in volume is a challenge for even the most experienced foodservice professional. Modern Batch Cookery provides the most contemporary and up-to-the-minute resource on the topic. The recipes are designed to yield 50 servings, and cover every meal part and occasion. Modern Batch Cookery contains more than the plain fare typical of institutional foodservice-these modern, delectable recipes include Gorgonzola and Pear Sandwiches, Tequila-Roasted Oysters, Chesapeake-Style Crab Cakes, and many more. Features more than 200 healthy, nutritious, large-batch recipes Includes chapters on Stocks, Sauces, and Soups; Breakfast and Brunch; Salads, Sandwiches, and Appetizers; EntrZes; Side Dishes; and Baked Goods and Desserts Provides pertinent information, including conversion charts and a glossary, as well as full-color photos of finished dishes that provide fresh ideas in plating and presentation Covers all the essentials of menu and recipe development Modern Batch Cookery is a comprehensive resource for chefs and foodservice operators working in schools, hospitals, nursing homes, banquet facilities, country clubs, and catering companies.

The most comprehensive guide on the market for aspiring orprofessional bakers and pastry chefs and serious home bakers This complete guide to the art and science of baking and pastryfrom Wayne Gisslen offers straightforward, practical guidance onthe fundamentals of baking. Covering everything from howingredients interact to mixing methods for doughs to step-by-stepbaking advice, this is an essential resource for professionals whowant to brush up on technique as well as home bakers who want totake their hobby to a higher level. The book offers a complete guide to the basics of preparingbreads, pastry doughs, cakes, creams, icings, and much more.Throughout, step-by-step photographs explain key techniques whileluscious illustrations of finished items offer plating anddecorating suggestions. Ideal for professionals and home bakers at almost any skilllevel, covering everything from the fundamentals of baking to thecomplexities of chocolate and sugarwork Features nearly 750 recipes and variations, many including bothlarge and small batch measurements Written by Wayne Gisslen, bestselling author of ProfessionalCooking, Professional Baking, Essentials of ProfessionalCooking, and The Chef's Art and coauthor ofProfessional Garde Manger, all from Wiley

The Ninth Edition ofProfessional Cooking reflects the changing nature of our understanding of cooking and related fields such as food safety, nutrition, and dietary practices, as well as new thinking about how best to teach this material. What has not changed is the core material that focuses on the essentials--the comprehensive understanding of ingredients and basic cooking techniques that are the foundation of success in the kitchen, and the development of manual skills to apply this knowledge.

The definitive book on knife skills from the knife manufacturer recognized worldwide as the symbol of the best quality and function. Every home chef needs a knife skills book. Cooks who know how to choose a knife, how to maintain it and how to use it properly work more safely, more quickly and more efficiently. Good knife skills also allow a cook to cut ingredients uniformly, allowing everything to cook at the same rate and creating the best presentation in the final dish. The authors' unique approach in this book stems from their experience in the culinary classroom, where they observed how people learn. Elliot and DeWan refined their teaching process based on this vast experience. Some of the features in the book are: More than 1,200 color step-by-step photos that clearly instruct and provide information on each technique Instructions on proper knife sharpening techniques Arrows and other graphic devices that direct the reader to the exact photo on the page and the precise skill illustrated A concealed wiro binding that lies flat, keeping a cook's fingers on the knife, where they safely belong Concise, detailed and easy-to-understand instructions on how to hold a knife, the basic cuts and the proper techniques for cutting poultry, fish and specific vegetables and fruits, and creative garnishes Coverage of Japanese-style knives and cutting techniques Concise history of knives and knife-making The Complete Book of Knife Skills was created in collaboration with Zwilling J.A. Henckels, one of the world's leading manufacturers of high-quality knives. This indispensable reference will allow home cooks to teach themselves knife skills based on professional instructors' years of experience.