School of Engineering and Construction Technologies

Electric power engineering has always been an integral part of electrical engineering education. Providing a unique alternative to existing books on the market, this text presents a concise and rigorous exposition of the main fundamentals of electric power engineering. Contained in a single volume, the materials can be used to teach three separate courses -- electrical machines, power systems and power electronics, which are in the mainstream of the electrical engineering curriculum of most universities worldwide. The book also highlights an in-depth review of electric and magnetic circuit theory with emphasis on the topics which are most relevant to electric power engineering.

Establishes minimum regulations for mechanical systems using prescriptive and performance-related provisions. The IMC was developed with broad-based principles that make possible the use of new materials, methods and design. Important changes include: Added coverage of pollution control units. A new exception was added to recognize Type I kitchen hoods listed for clearances to combustibles of less than 18 inches. Added coverage for a newer type of non-metallic duct, phenolic duct. New coverage for high volume large diameter fans (HVLD), also referred to as high volume low speed (HVLS) fans. Relaxed requirements for sealing of duct joints and seams for Snap- and Button-lock duct joints located within the thermal envelope.

Full coverage of materials and mechanical design in engineering Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Fourth Edition provides a quick guide to specialized areas you may encounter in your work, giving you access to the basics of each and pointing you toward trusted resources for further reading, if needed. The accessible information inside offers discussions, examples, and analyses of the topics covered. This first volume covers materials and mechanical design, giving you accessible and in-depth access to the most common topics you'll encounter in the discipline: carbon and alloy steels, stainless steels, aluminum alloys, copper and copper alloys, titanium alloys for design, nickel and its alloys, magnesium and its alloys, superalloys for design, composite materials, smart materials, electronic materials, viscosity measurement, and much more. Presents comprehensive coverage of materials and mechanical design Offers the option of being purchased as a four-book set or as single books, depending on your needs Comes in a subscription format through the Wiley Online Library and in electronic and custom formats Engineers at all levels of industry, government, or private consulting practice will find Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Volume 1 a great resource they'll turn to repeatedly as a reference on the basics of materials and mechanical design.

This clearly written, easy-to-read book offers a practical introduction to the topics of water supply, waste management, and pollution control. Because of the wide scope of the subject matter, the author has included review sections so that readers with little knowledge of biology, chemistry, geology, or hydraulics can comprehend and use this book, and mathematical topics are introduced at a relatively basic level. An overview of environmental technology introduces the book, and includes a discussion of public health, ecology, geology, and soils. The book then focuses on water and wastewater topics, including hydraulics and hydrology, water quality and water pollution, drinking water treatment and distribution, sewage collection, sewage treatment and disposal, and stormwater water management. Municipal solid waste, hazardous waste, air pollution, and noise pollution are also discussed. For individuals working in the fields of environmental quality control and public health protection, as well as civil engineers, wastewater technicians, and water treatment professionals.