Records Retention Schedules

12-1         Student Organization File

Description:            

Records concerning student organizations at university.   File may include constitution, bylaws, minutes of meetings, and other records of any student organization. 

Disposition:            

Retain constitution, bylaws, and minutes in office three (3) years, then transfer to the Institutional Archives, with authority to weed, for permanent preservation.  Destroy fiscal records one (1) year after all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided no legal actions are pending.   If legal action is pending, destroy two (2) years after the exhaustion of all legal remedies.  Review remaining records on an annual basis.  Destroy duplicate and ancillary records as well as substantive records no longer required for administrative purposes.

12-2         Student Financial Assistance File

Description:            

Record concerns financial aid awarded to university students. Each file may include applications for financial aid, correspondence, statements of need, approvals/disapprovals, as well as reports, funding information, guidelines and descriptions of programs, and related materials. 

Disposition:           

Retain in office and destroy individual student files five (5) years after repayment, cancellation, or other release from repayment of financial aid provided all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided no legal actions are pending. If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Amended July 11, 1990

12-3         Intramural Sports File

Description:         

Records concerning intramural sports at the institution.

Disposition:                            

Retain in office two (2) years, then destroy.

12-4         Student Legal Services Administrative File

Description:            

Records concerning the administration of student legal services.  File may include reports, correspondence, financial data, budgets, and related records. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office five (5) years, then destroy provided all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided no legal actions are pending.   If legal action is pending, destroy two (2) years after the exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Language Correction April 15, 1987

12-5         Student Legal Services Case File  Confidential Record  12 O.S., §2502

Description:            

Records concerning each student legal services case. Each file may include reports, transcripts, opinions, and related records. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office until two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies, then destroy. 

12-6         Disciplinary Records File

Description:            

Records  concerning  disciplinary  actions  brought  against  students  for violations of university rules and regulations. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office until two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies, then destroy.

12-7         Student Counseling File  File is subject to 20 USC §1232g, 1982

Description:         

Records  regarding  students  counseled  by  university  counseling  service.  Counseling may relate to academics or minor problems.

Disposition:         

Retain in office and destroy two (2) years after termination of counseling.

12-8         Honor Code Violations File 

Description:            

Records concerning reported violations of university honor code.  File may include investigations of those violations and records of trials before student court. 

Disposition:            

If case is tried and accused is not convicted, destroy records two (2) years after acquittal. If case is tried and accused is convicted, transfer information to Student Records (Series 13-2).  Retain remaining convicted case records ten (10) years, then destroy.  Destroy records not concerning cases or cases that did not go to trial when five (5) years old.

12-9         Student Surveys File

Description:            

Completed student surveys.  File may include reports summarizing results and conclusions of surveys. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office one (1) year, then destroy surveys and work papers and transfer results and conclusions to the Institutional Archives for permanent preservation.

12-10       Student Accident Reports File

Description:           

Reports of accidents involving students.   File may include affidavits, photographs, and related records. 

Disposition:         

Retain in office ten (10) years then destroy if no legal actions are pending.  If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements. Language Correction April 15, 1987

12-11       Dormitory Work Orders File

Description:         

Work orders for repair or maintenance of student dormitories. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office five (5) years after completion of project, then destroy provided no legal actions are pending. If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Amended April 13, 1988

12-12       Student Housing Applications File

Description:         

Completed applications for student housing. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office two (2) years, then destroy provided no legal actions are pending.  If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Amended April 13, 1988

12-13       Student Housing Contracts File

Description:            

Completed contracts between Student Affairs and students utilizing student housing. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office until two (2) years after end of contract, then destroy provided all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided and no legal action is pending.  If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Language Correction April 15, 1987

12-14       Residence Hall Housing File

Description:            

Records concerning student residence hall housing.  File may include rules and regulations concerning student housing, convenience copies of incident reports(record copy see Series 11-11), copies of completed applications for student housing (Series 12-12), copies of completed contracts between Student Affairs and students utilizing student housing (Series 12-13), copies of  residence  hall  damages  records  (Series  12-15),  move-in  check  lists, check-in cards, status changes, correspondence, refrigerator rental agreements, roommate selection surveys, deposit receipts, copies of student contracts from financial aid (Series 12-2), copies of time cards, time sheets (Series 9-46). 

Disposition:         

Retain in office until two (2) years after end of housing contracts or housing applications, then destroy provided all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided and no legal action is pending.  If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements. Amended January 22, 2009

12-15       Residence Hall Damages File 

Description:            

Records  concerning  damage  to  student  residence  halls  and  damage assessments to individual students. 

Disposition:            

Transfer information concerning individual damage assessments to Fiscal Office.  Retain copies of assessments and remaining records two (2) years after end of contract, then destroy provided all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided no legal actions are pending.  If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Language Correction April 15, 1987

12-16       Off Campus Housing File

Description:         

Records concerning off campus housing available to students. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office until no longer required for administrative purposes, then destroy.

12-17       Student Handbooks

Description:            

Handbook concerning policies and procedures of the institution as they pertain to students, academic calendar, map of institution, etc. 

Disposition:         

Retain  in  office  until  superseded,  then  transfer  one  (1)  copy  to  the Institutional Archives for permanent preservation. Added April 13, 1988

12-18       Academic Scholarships

Description:            

Record concerns scholarships awarded to university students. Each file may include  applications  for  scholarship,  correspondence, approvals/disapprovals, as well as reports, funding information, guidelines and descriptions of programs, and related materials. 

Disposition:            

If scholarship is approved, transfer to Academic Scholarships (Granted), Series 12-19.  Retain disapproved applications in office two (2) years, then destroy provided no legal actions are pending.   If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Added April 13, 1988

12-19       Academic Scholarships (Granted)

Description:         

Record  concerns  approved  scholarships  awarded  to  university  students.  Each file may include applications for scholarship, correspondence, approvals/disapprovals, as well as reports, funding information, guidelines and descriptions of programs, and related materials.

Disposition:            

Retain in office five (5) years after termination of enrollment, then destroy provided all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided no legal actions are pending. If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Added April 13, 1988

12-20       Yearbooks

Description:         

Copy of the college yearbook. 

Disposition:            

Transfer  one  (1)  copy  to  the  Institutional  Archives  for  permanent preservation.

Added January 18, 1989

12-21       Campus Newspaper

Description:         

Copy of the college newspaper. 

Disposition:           

Retain in office permanently or transfer to the Institutional Archives for permanent preservation.

Amended April 12, 2000

12-22       Placement Office File  Confidential Record  51 O.S., §24A.16 

Description:            

File contains registration form; personal data form, consisting of institutions attended, degrees, summary of courses taken, number of hours, and names of courses; and confidential reference from faculty members.

 Disposition:         

Retain in office five (5) years, then destroy.

Added January 17, 1990

12-23       Student Mastercard  Confidential Record  51 O.S., §24A.16 

Description:            

File consists of card listing student name, address, telephone number, social security number, amount of parents' earned income, and type and amount of financial aid awarded, if any. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office until five (5) years after termination of enrollment, then destroy provided all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided no legal actions are pending.  If legal action is pending  destroy  two  (2)  years  after  exhaustion  of  all  legal  remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.  Added April 11, 1990

12-24       Dormitory Rosters

Description:         

Roster of all students living in a dormitory.

Disposition:            

Retain in office until no longer required for administrative purposes, then destroy.

Added January 16, 1991

 12-25       Student Contracts [Work Study and Institutional part-time positions]

Description:            

Contracts listing one-page sheets listing names, social security numbers, number of hours per week to be worked, salary per hour, total term salary amounts, student's job titles, immediate supervisor's signature, account sponsor's signature, date, and account numbers. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office and destroy five (5) years after submission of award year Fiscal-Operations Report to the U.S. Department of Education provided all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided no legal actions are pending. If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.  Added July 14, 1993

12-26       Requests for Hiring Student Workers 

Description:            

Requests from departments and offices for student workers.  Data includes job  title,  work hours, and the name and social security number of the student. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office and destroy five (5) years after submission of award year Fiscal-Operations Report to the U.S. Department of Education provided all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided no legal actions are pending. If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Added July 14, 1993

12-27       Financial Aid Procedures Manual 

Description:           

Office copy of university procedures to be followed in awarding and administering student financial aid. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office and destroy five (5) years after superseded provided all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided no legal actions are pending, then destroy.  If legal action is pending  destroy  two  (2)  years  after  exhaustion  of  all  legal  remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Added July 14, 1993

12-28       Student Program Files 

Description:           

File includes records concerning the administration of student operated programs.    Files contain programs, description proposals, reports, correspondences and tickets.

 Disposition:         

Retain in office two (2) years, then destroy.

Added October 26, 2006

13-3         Academic Transcript File  (Essential Record 67 O.S. §203 (e)) 

13-4         Recruitment File

Description:            

Records  concerning  the  recruitment  of  students.     File  may  include procedures and guidelines for recruiting, correspondence, completed forms, reports, and related material. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office two (2) years, then destroy provided no complaints have been filed.   If complaints have been filed, destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Language Correction April 15, 1987

13-5         Student Data File

Description:         

Records providing statistical data concerning students.

Disposition:                            

Retain in office permanently.

Amended April 12, 2000

13-6         Admission Test Scores File

Description:            

Information may include test descriptions, interpretations of scores, and related reference materials. 

Disposition:            

If student has been accepted and enrolls, transfer to individual Student Records File (Series 13-2).  Retain files on students who were rejected and those who were accepted but failed to enroll one (1) year, then destroy provided no charges of discrimination have been filed. If charges have been filed destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies.

Amended April 13, 1988

13-7         Transfer Equivalent File

Description:            

Records concerning transfer equivalents accepted by the institution.   File may  include  reference  materials  concerning  various  colleges  and universities and their academic equivalents. 

Disposition:         

Retain in office permanently.

13-8         Student Withdrawal File

Description:            

Records concerning students withdrawing from the institution. File includes notifications and all related data. 

Disposition:         

Retain in office, transfer pertinent data to Academic Transcript File (Series 13-3). Destroy remaining material when two (2) years old.

13-9         Veteran's Benefits File  38 CFR §21.4209

Description:           

Records regarding students who receive veteran's benefits.  File contains applications, approvals/disapprovals, dates of enrollment and attendance, enrollment certification, amounts awarded, amounts received, notice of change in student status and related records. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office and destroy records pertaining to individual veterans five (5) years after termination of enrollment, provided all audits have been completed and all applicable audit reports have been accepted and resolved by all applicable federal and state agencies and provided no legal actions are pending.  If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all  legal  remedies provided records meet  all  stipulated retention requirements and no written request to retain the records longer has been received from the General Accounting Office or the United States Department of Veterans Affairs.

Amended April 13, 1994

13-10  Student Records Changes File

Description:         

Data regarding changes in student records. 

Disposition:         

Transfer information to individual Student Records (Series 13-2 and 13-5).  Destroy two (2) years after transferring provided no legal actions are pending.  If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Amended October 13, 1993

13-11       Add/Drop Forms

Description:         

Forms used to add or drop courses.

Disposition:            

Transfer information to Academic Transcript File (Series 13-3).   Retain forms one (1) year, then destroy.

13-12       Pass/Fail Form File

Description:            

Pass/Fail forms used to request a course be taken pass/fail instead of for a grade. 

Disposition:            

Transfer information to Academic Transcript File (Series 13-3).   Retain forms one (1) year, then destroy.

13-13       Graduation File

Description:         

Applications filed by students to graduate and listings of eligible students.

Disposition:                            

Retain  in  office  until  verified,  then  transfer  information  to  individual Student Records (Series 13-2). Retain forms one (1) year, then destroy. Amended April 13, 1988

13-14       Credit by Examination File File is subject to 51 O.S., §24A.16

Description:           

CLEP tests administered by the institution and advanced placement tests administered by the institution or by high schools. 

Disposition:            

Transfer results to Academic Transcript File (Series 13-3).  Destroy records five (5) years after transferring results to Academic Transcript File provided no complaints have been filed.  If a complaint has been filed destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Amended July 15, 1992

13-15       Probation File

Description:            

Records  concerning  academic  and  disciplinary  probationary  measures imposed upon students. 

Disposition:         

Retain until probation is terminated, then transfer to individual Student Record (Series 13-2).

13-16       Diplomas File

Description:         

File containing records concerning the ordering of diplomas for graduation.

Disposition:                            

Retain in office until one (1) year after all audits have been completed and all  applicable  audit  reports  have  been  accepted  and  resolved  by  all applicable federal and state agencies and provided no legal actions are pending, then destroy.  If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies.

13-17       Transcripts Requests File

Description:         

Requests for grade transcripts. 

Disposition:         

Retain in office one (1) year, then destroy.

13-18       Student Awards and Honors File

Description:         

Records  concerned  with  bestowing  graduation  honors,  honor  rolls,  and awards or other honors. 

Disposition:         

Transfer one (1) copy to individual Student Records File (Series 13-2).  Retain one (1) copy in office two (2) years, then transfer to Institutional

Archives for permanent preservation.

13-19       Placement Tests File

Description:         

Completed tests administered to determine each student's aptitude.

Disposition:        

If student has been accepted and enrolls, transfer to individual Student Records File (Series 13-2).  Retain files on students who were rejected and those who were accepted but failed to enroll one (1) year, then destroy provided no charges of discrimination have been filed. If charges have been filed destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies.

13-20       Placement Test Scores Listings File 

Description:         

Listings of student placement test scores. 

Disposition:            

If student has been accepted and enrolls, transfer to individual Student Records File (Series 13-2).  Retain files on students who were rejected and those who were accepted but failed to enroll one (1) year, then destroy provided no charges of discrimination have been filed. If charges have been filed destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies.

13-21       Individual Placement Test Scores File

Description:         

Placement test scores for each student taking test. 

Disposition:            

If student has been accepted and enrolls, transfer to individual Student Records File (Series 13-2).  Retain files on students who were rejected and those who were accepted but failed to enroll one (1) year, then destroy provided no charges of discrimination have been filed. If charges have been filed destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies.

13-22       Completed Tests, Examinations, and Papers File

Description:         

Completed student tests, examinations, and papers. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office until returned to students.   Retain unreturned material in office until expiration of academic appeals period, then destroy.

Amended July 13, 1994

13-23       Comprehensive Examination File

Description:         

Completed student comprehensive or general examinations for Masters or Doctoral degrees.

Disposition:            

Retain in office four (4) years, then destroy provided no grievances have been filed.   If grievances have been filed destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Amended April 13, 1988

13-24       Comprehensive Examination Results File

Description:         

Listings of student comprehensive or general examination scores.

Disposition:                            

Transfer one (1) copy to individual Student Records File (Series 13-2) and retain one (1) copy in office two (2) years, then destroy.

13-25       Admission to Program File

Description:           

File contains information relevant to the requirements for admissions to a program (such as Nursing) where the program may have requirements separate and beyond those of the University. 

Disposition:         

Retain in office until two (2) years after superseded, then transfer to the Institutional Archives for permanent preservation.

13-26       Applications for Admissions to Program File

Description:         

File contains applications for admissions to program. 

Disposition:         

Transfer successful applications to individual Student Records File (Series 13-2).  Retain unsuccessful applications one (1) year, then destroy provided no legal actions are pending. If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Language Correction April 15, 1987

13-27       Degree Plans-Degree Checks File

Description:         

Working file used to double check student's progress towards a degree.

Disposition:                            

Retain in office until no longer required for administrative purposes, then destroy.

13-28       Student Teaching Certification File

Description:           

Records concerning student certifications for teaching.  File may include correspondence,   applications,   transcripts,   check  sheets,   grade   sheets, drop-add forms, class schedules, and related documents. 

Disposition:         

Transfer one (1) copy to individual Student Records File (Series 13-2).  Retain one (1) copy until two (2) years after termination of enrollment, then destroy.

13-29       Internships/Assistantships File

Description:          

Records  concerning  student  internships  and  assistantships  within Department.  File may include applications, approvals and disapprovals, records of credit earned, accounting information, class rolls, and related documents. 

Disposition:            

Retain  in  office,  transfer  accounting  records  to  Fiscal  Office,  transfer records of credit earned to Academic Transcript File (Series 13-3) at end of term.   Keep remaining records until two (2) years after termination of enrollment, then destroy.

13-30       Instructor Class Rolls/Grade Sheet

Description:         

File contains class rolls and grade sheets for each course. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office five (5) years, then destroy provided no complaints have been filed.   If a complaint has been filed destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.  Language Correction April 15, 1987

13-32       Practicum and Internship Agreements

Description:            

Agreements  between  department,  student,  and  outside  entity  providing student with practicum or internship experience.  The file also includes applications, for student teaching, classroom evaluations, progress reports, recommendations from supervising teachers, and other evaluations. 

Disposition:         

Retain in office and place in individual Student Records File (Series 13-2).

Amended October 11, 1989

13-33       Instructor Evaluations 

Description:           

Teacher  evaluations  completed  at  the  end  of  a  course  evaluating  an instructor's performance. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office until no longer required for administrative purposes, then destroy.

13-34       Grievances

Description:            

Grievances filed by professors and instructors against students for academic misconduct.  File may include correspondence, transcripts of hearings, and decisions. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office five (5) years after termination of enrollment, then destroy provided no legal actions are pending. If legal action is pending destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.  Language Correction April 15, 1987

13-35       Instructor Grade Books

Description:         

Files consist of instructor grade books for each course. 

Disposition:            

Retain in office five (5) years, then destroy provided no complaints have been filed.   If a complaint has been filed destroy two (2) years after exhaustion of all legal remedies provided records meet all stipulated retention requirements.

Amended April 12, 2000

13-36       Correspondence

Description:         

Incoming and copies of outgoing correspondence. 

Disposition:            

File correspondence concerning students in applicable Student Records File, (Series 13-2).  Retain other correspondence in office and review on an annual basis.   Destroy duplicate and ancillary materials as well as substantive materials two (2) or more years old no longer required for administrative purposes.

Added January 16, 1991